The Changing Outer Hebrides: Galson and the Meaning of Place by Frank Rennie, published by Acair Books, wins the 2020 Highland Book Prize

Read more…

About The Prize

The Highland Book Prize, established in 2017, celebrates the finest published work that recognises the rich talent, landscape and cultural diversity of the Highlands.

This annual prize is open to work in fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

Presented by the Highland Society of London and facilitated by Moniack Mhor Creative Writing Centre, this literary prize aims to bring recognition to books created in or about the Highlands.

The winner is announced May 2022, and will be awarded £1000 prize money and a week’s writing retreat at Moniack Mhor Creative Writing Centre.

The William Grant Foundation provides funding to encourage public engagement with the Highland Book Prize.

Proposed Key Dates 2021
Tuesday 8th June 2021 Entries open
Monday 9th August 2021 Entries close at 10am
Early November 2021Longlist announced
March 2022Shortlist announced
May 2022 Winner announced
dates may be subject to alteration