2021 Winner

Jen Hadfield’s beautiful poetry collection, The Stone Age, published by Picador, is named as the 2021 Highland Book Prize.

2020 winner

The Changing Outer Hebrides: Galson and the Meaning of Place by Frank Rennie, published by Acair Books, wins the 2020 Highland Book Prize.

2019 joint winners: 

The Frayed Atlantic Edge: A Historian’s Journey from Shetland to the Channel by David Gange (William Collins)

Surfacing by Kathleen Jamie (Sort of Books)

Spring by Ali Smith (Penguin Random House)

Moder Dy by Roseanne Watt (Polygon)

2018 winner

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free by Andrew Miller

2017 winner

Borders by Kapka Kassabova