2020 Judging Panel

Alex Ogilvie

Alex is a trustee of the Highland Society of London, and his particular focus within the Society is on promoting and supporting the arts in the Highlands of Scotland.

As well as presenting the Highland Book Prize, the Society provides funding to the University of the Highlands and Islands for a dissertation prize and sponsors the Fiction prize at the Gaelic Literature Awards.

Alex grew up near Fort William, the son of a Classics professor, in a house overflowing with books; since then, he has retained a love of both reading and the Highlands – and tries to combine both, wherever possible. He currently lives in the South of England and works for Warner Bros. International Television.

Kevin MacNeil

Kevin is a leading Scottish novelist, poet, playwright and screenwriter, born and raised in the Outer Hebrides. His most recent novel, The Brilliant & Forever, was published to huge critical acclaim and was shortlisted for the Saltire Fiction of the Year Award in 2016. 

Kevin recently edited Robert Louis Stevenson: An Anthology, Selected by Jorge Luis Borges and Adolfo Bioy Casares. Kevin has won a number of prestigious literary awards and he lectures in Creative Writing at the University of Stirling. He invented Hai Cookery and lives with his rescue greyhound, Molly.

Jen Hadfield

Jen Hadfield is a poet published by Picador, whose fourth collection The Stone Age explores neurodiversity and is forthcoming with Picador in 2021. She is also working on a collection of essays about Shetland, where she is building a house, very slowly.

Mark Wringe

Mark Wringe is a Senior Lecturer in Gaelic Language and Culture at Sabhal Mòr Ostaig, University of the Highlands and Islands.  He regularly chairs events at Ullapool and other book festivals around Scotland, and has presented BBC Radio nan Gàidheal’s book programme Leugh an Leabhar for 20 years.  He has been a member of the judging panel for the Saltire Literary Awards and the Clan Donald Poetry Prize.  He has served on the board of directors of the Gaelic Books Council.  He lives in Skye, where he is Chair of a local community trust, Camuscross & Duisdale Initiative.